The Berlin International Human Rights Congress (BIHRC)

"Human Rights and Democracy in a Globalized World - Moving Towards an International Consensus"

(Berlin; October 1st - 4th, 2010)
The speakers during the Seminar will include leading figures and experts from international politics, academia, the diplomatic community, civil society and the private sector, from across the world. These speakers will include a number of individuals from the ICD Advisory Board (for further information about the Advisory Board please click here).

Confirmed Speakers for the Congress include:
  • Dr. Alan Berman
    Senior Lecturer in Law, Newcastle University, Australia
  • H. E. Ambassador Dr. Alifa Chaabane Farouk
    Tunisian Ambassador to Germany
  • Prof. Dr. Alina Mungiu-Pippidi
    Professor of Democracy Studies, Hertie School of Governance, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Anja Mihr
    Associate Professor, Netherlands Institute for Human Rights, Utrecht
  • Dr. Anne V. Adams
    Director of the W.E.B. Dubois Memorial Centre for Pan-African Culture, Ghana
  • Benjamin Titze
    Board Member at Amnesty International Germany
  • H.E. Carlos dos Santos
    Ambasador of the Republic of Mozambique to Germany
  • Cem Özdemir
    Co-Leaders, German Green Party/Alliance '90
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Armbrüster
    Judge, Berlin Court of Justice (Kammergericht Berlin), Professor of Law, Free University Berlin
  • Dr. Emil Constantinescu 
    ICD Board Member - Former President of Romania
  • Prof. Dr. Heiner Bielefeld 
    UN Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Religion or Belief
  • Marianne Heuwagen
    Former Director of Human Rights Watch Germany
  • Mark C. Donfried
    Director - the Institute for Cultural Diplomacy
  • Markus Löning
    Federal Government Commissioner for Human Rights Policy and Humanitarian Aid at the Federal Foreign Office
  • Markus Meckel
    First Democratically Elected Foreign Minister of the German Democratic Republic (DDR)
  • Dr. Miomir Zuzul 
    Former Foreign Minister of Croatia, Former Croatian Ambassador to the United States
  • Dr. Nils Meyer-Ohlendorf
    Executive Director, Democracy Reporting International
  • Dr. Peter Kirchschläger
    Co-Director, Centre of Human Rights Education (ZMRB) Lucerne, Switzerland
  • Prof. Dr. Sabine Berghahn
    Visiting Professor in Law, Politics, and Gender at the Berlin School of Economics and Law
  • Stephanie Brancaforte
    Campaign Director for
  • Professor Dr. Theodor Schilling
    Professor of Law at Humboldt University
  • Troy Davis
    Lecturer in democracy engineering, University of Strasbourg (France) and University of Freiburg (Germany)
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrich Brückner
    Jean Monnet Professor for European Studies, Stanford University in Berlin
  • H.E. Yasar Yakis
    ICD Advisory Board Member - Turkish MP, Former Foreign Minister of Turkey