International Symposium on Cultural Diplomacy in the USA

"US Cultural Diplomacy in Practice: Building Cultural Bridges to Strengthen the Relationships between America and the Global Community"

(Washington D.C., June 23th - 24th; Baltimore, June 25th; & New York City, June 26th - 27th, 2014)

Symposium Speakers & Delegates

Speakers & Delegates during the conferences include among others leading politicians, senior diplomats, leading governmental officials, senior academics, renowned authors, journalists, and celebrated artists. These speakers will include a large number of individuals from the ICD Advisory Board. To learn more about the ICD Advisory Board, please click here.

The following are among the speakers for the Symposium:
  • Abha Dawesar
    Indian Novelist
  • Ahsin Rasheed
    Chairman & CEO of DDG
  • The Hon. Alberto Gonzales
    80th United States Attorney General of the United States
  • Amb. Andras Simonyi
    Managing director of the Center for Transatlantic Relations, Johns Hopkins University
  • Angela Beeching
  • Prof. Dr. Angie Cruz
    Assistant Professor, University of Pittsburgh
  • Anna Yankova
    Director, International Affairs, Office of the Secretary of State of Maryland
  • Arnold Packer
    Former United States Assistant Secretary of Labor
  • Ashok Rajamani
  • Bob Dotson
    American Broadcast Journalist & Host of "American Story with Bob Dotson," NBC News Today Show
  • Boria Sax
    Writer & Journalist
  • Carl N. Grant, III
    EVP, Business Development
  • H.E. Amb. Elena Poptodorova
    Ambassador of Bulgaria to the United States
  • Elissa Bantug
    Project Coordinator of the Breast Cancer Survivorship Program, Johns Hopkins Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Emanuel Xavier
    Poet, Spoken Word Artist, Novelist, Editor, and Activist
  • Prof. Dr. Enrique S. Pumar
    Professor & Chair, Department of Sociology, Catholic University of America
  • James Finn Cotter
    Professor of English at Mount Saint Mary College, Newburgh NY
  • H.E. Amb. Jānis Mažeiks
    Permanent Representative of the Republic of Latvia to the United Nations
  • Jazliza Jamaluddin
    (PhD  researcher of Diplomatic History, University of Nottingham, UK)
  • Jeff Leen
    Assistant Managing Editor in Charge of the Investigations Unit, The Washington Post
  • Dr. Jesse Lutabingwa
    Professor of Public Administration at Appalachian State University
  • John D. Fonte
    Senior Fellow and Director of the Center for American Common Culture, Hudson Institute
  • Prof. Dr. John J. Tierney
    Walter Kohler Professor of International Relations; Academic Dean, Ad Interim;
  • Prof. Dr. Joseph L Adolphe
    Professor, Fine Arts, St. John's College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, St. John's University
  • Joseph Sung
    Director of North America for Heavenly Culture World Peace Restoration of Light (HWPL)
  • Rear Admiral Dr. Joyce M. Johnson
    Rear Admiral (Ret.) U.S. Public Health Service
  • Kayvon Afshari
    Host & Executive Producer, the Mideast Show with Kayvon Afshari
  • Kenny Fame
    Poet & Musician
  • Larry Schugam
    Executive Vice President, the Baltimore Curriculum Project
  • Len Bernstein
  • Lionell Thomas
    Director, DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities
  • Ludwig Brunner
    Executive Director, the Regina A. Quick Center for the Arts, St. Bonaventure University
  • Maiken Tandgaard Derno
    Head of Culture and Public Diplomacy, Permanent Mission of Denmark to the United Nations
  • Margaret Newman
    Executive Director, Municipal Art Society of New York
  • Dr. Max Hilaire
    Associate Professor & Chairperson, Morgan State University
  • Megan Hamilton
    Program Director, Creative Alliance
  • Nasratullah Rasa
    (Project Director for the “Health Partners International of Canada” in Kabul, Afghanistan)
  • H.E. Amb. Dr. Neil Parsan
    Ambassador of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago to the United States
  • Nina Bankova
    (Director, Professional Exchanges, Strategy and Business Development, World Trade Center Institute)
  • Dr. Oktar Babuna, MD
    Representative, A9 TV Turkey
  • Phil Eskeland
    Executive Director, Korea Economic Institute of America
  • Renée Watson
  • Senator Richard Bryan
    Former United States Senator
  • Robert S Walker
    Former Republican Chief Deputy Whip of the United States House of Representatives
  • H.E. Amb. Simona Miculescu
    Ambassador of Romania to the UN
  • Stuart Isacoff
  • Sussan Tahmasebi
    Co-Founder of the International Civil Society Action Network, Iran
  • Ms. Tatiana de Germán-Ribón
    First Secretary of Cultural Affairs, Embassy of Colombia to the United States
  • Teresa Lapid Rodriguez
    Director, George Segal Gallery at Montclair State University
  • Tia Powell Harris
    Executive Director, Weeksville Heritage Center
  • H.E. Amb. Vladimir Drobnjak
    Permanent Representative of the Republic of Croatia to the United Nations
  • Yerkin Akhinzhanov
    Deputy Chief of Mission, Embassy of the Republic of Kazakhstan to the United States
  • H.E. Amb. Yuriy Sergeyev
    Permanent Representative of Ukraine to the United Nations
  • Yvonne Captain
    Director, MIPP Program Elliott School of International Affairs, George Washington University