A World Without Walls 2010
”An International Conference on Peacebuilding, Reconciliation and Globalization in an Interdependent World”

(Berlin; November 6th - 10th, 2010)

Human Rights Introduction

May 14, 1955

The signing of the Warsaw Pact

The Soviet Union retaliates to West Germany’s membership in NATO by founding a mutual defence treaty called the “Treaty of Friendship, Cooperation and Mutual Assistance”, commonly known as the “Warsaw Pact”. Eight Soviet states, including East Germany, subscribe to the Treaty. From this point Warsaw Pact countries and NATO states work to increase their influence within the wider context of the Cold War, although they never directly wage war against one another.