In cooperation with:

The International Symposium on Cultural Diplomacy 2011

"Hard Vs. Soft Power in Global and National Politics: Innovative Concepts of Smart Power and Cultural Diplomacy in an Age of Interdependence, Digital Revolution, and Social Media"

(Berlin; May 11th - 15th, 2011)

Symposium Speakers

  • The Hon. Ana Trisic Babic
    Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of Bosnia & Herzegovina
  • H.E Amb. Andras Simonyi
    Former Hungarian Ambassador to the USA
  • H. E. Ambassador Mr. Anatole Bacanamwo
    Ambassador of Burundi to Germany
  • Bettina Muscheidt
    Desk Afghanistan, EEAS - European External Action Service, EU
  • H.E Amb. Clémentine Shakembo Kamanga
    Ambassador of Congo to Germany
  • H. E. Amb. Dr. Cynthia P. Schneider
    61st Ambassador of the United States to the Netherlands
  • H.E Ambassador Dan Mulhall
    Ambassador of Ireland to Germany
  • H. E. Ambassador Dilshod Kh. Akhatov
    Ambassador of Uzbekistan to Germany
  • H.E. Amb. Delia Domingo-Albert
    Former Foreign Minister of the Philippines; Ambassador of the Philippines to the Federal Republic of Germany
  • Prof. Dr. Eberhard Sandschneider
    Director of the Research Institute of the German Council on Foreign Relations
  • H.E. Ambassador Eddy Pratomo
    Ambassador of Indonesia to Germany
  • The Hon. Dr. Emil Constantinescu
    Former President of Romania
  • The Hon. Dr. Erkki Tuomioja
    Former Foreign Minister Finland
  • Dr. Emina Keco Isakovic
    Ambassador Bosnia-Herzegovina to UN-Geneva
  • H.E Amb. Fesseha Asghedom Tessema
    Ambassador of Ethiopia to Germany
  • The Hon. Georgi Pirinski
    Vice-President of the National Assembly of Bulgaria
  • Dr. Gerhard Sabathil
    Director for Strategy, Coordination and Analysis, EEAS - European External Action Service, EU
  • Prof. Dr. Hans Köchler
    (Professor of Philosophy at the University of Innsbruck, President of the International Progress Organization)
  • Ms. Hilda Hinidza-Elluh
    First Secretary, Embassy of Ghana to Germany
  • The Hon. Sir James R. Mancham
    Former President of the Republic of Seychelles
  • The Hon. Janez Jansa
    Former Prime minister of Slovenia; President of the Slovenian Democratic Party
  • H.E. Ambassador Janis Mazeiks
    Latvian Ambasador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Permanent Representative of Latvia to the UN Office in Geneva
  • H. E. Amb. Jean Feyder
    Ambassador of Luxembourg to the UN Geneva
  • John Ferguson
    (Executive Director, American Voices)
  • John Whitehead
    Director - British Council, Berlin
  • H.E. Ambassador Lazăr Comănescu
    Romanian Ambassador to Germany
  • The Hon. Luc van den Brande
    Former Minister-President of Flanders, Belgium; Former President of the European Union's Committee of the Regions (CIVEX)
  • The Hon. Lucinda Creighton
    Minister of European Affairs of Ireland
  • The Hon. Dr. Marc Verwilghen
    Former Minister of Justice of Belgium
  • Maria Kelt
    Director in the Swedish Ministry of Justice; Former Head of Section of the Division for Penal Law in the Ministry of Justice
  • Merethe Stagetorn
    Defense Lawyer for the Danish Supreme Court
  • The Hon. Michael Chertoff
    Former United States Secretary of Homeland Security
  • The Hon. Mirko Tomassoni
    Former Head of State of San Marino
  • H.E Amb. Mohammed Rachad Bouhlal
    Ambassador of Morocco to Germany
  • H.E. Ambassador Mosud Mannan
    Ambassador of Bangladesh to Germany
  • The Hon. Rexhep Meidani
    Former President of Albania
  • Ribal Al-Assad
    Founder and Chairman of IMAN; Founder and Director of the Organization for Democracy and Freedom in Syria
  • H.E. Ambassador Mrs. Sarojini Seeneevassen-Frers
    Ambassador of Mauritius to Germany
  • Amb. Thomas Stelzer
    Assistant Secretary-General for Policy Coordination and Inter-Agency Affairs at DESA, UN
  • The Hon. Judge Theodor Meron
    Former President of the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia
  • The Hon. Senator Tim Hutchinson
    Former United States Senator from Arkansas
  • The Hon. Dr. Vasile Puscas
    Former Romanian Minister for European Affairs
  • The Hon. Vladimír Mečiar
    Former Prime Minister of Slovakia
  • The Hon. Yasar Yakis
    Chairman of the EU Committee in the Turkish Parliament; Former Foreign Minister of Turkey
  • Mr. Werner Wnendt
    Head, Department of Culture and Communication, German Foreign Office
  • The Hon. Dr. Zvonimir Paul Separovic
    Former Minister of Justice, Republic of Croatia