Symposium on Cultural Diplomacy & Human Rights

"Towards a Global Human Rights Culture: The Need for a Collective Alliance in the Protection & Promotion of Human Rights"

(Berlin; May 27th - June 1st, 2013)

Symposium Speakers

We are privileged to include as speakers many distinguished experts from the fields of international politics, international law, diplomacy, human rights and civil society; The ICD is grateful for their contributions to this important event.

The following are among the speakers for the Symposium:
  • Minister Adolphe Rukenkanya
    Minster of Youth, Sports and Culture of Burundi
  • Arthur Gwagwa
    Coordinator, International Liaison Office, Zimbabwe Human Rights NGO Forum
  • Birgitta Wistrand
    Researcher at Center for Gender Research, Uppsala University; Sweden
  • Blanche Foster
    Acting Executive Director, Darfur Rehabilitation Project, Inc.
  • Minister Dr. Cirino Hiteng Ofuho
    Minister of Culture, Youth & Sports of South Sudan
  • Dr. Deborah S Davenport
    Senior Visiting Research Associate, Environmental Change Institute, Oxford University Centre for the Environment
  • Dietmar Köring
    Architecht & Researcher, Institute for Urban Design and Sustainable urban Planning, Technische Universität Berlin
  • Dolkun Isa
    Chairman of the Executive Committee,  World Uyghur Congress
  • Edson Chiota
    CEO, Zimbabwe Association for Crime Prevention and Rehabilitation of the Offender
  • President Dr. Emil Constantinescu
    Former President of Romania; President of the Academy of Cultural Diplomacy Berlin
  • Emmanuel Nahshon
    Deputy Ambassador of Israel to Germany
  • Francisco Javier Urizar Pérez
    Coordinator of the Defense of Human Dignity, Human Rights Office of the Archbishop of Guatemala
  • Dr. Gregory Stanton
    President, Genocide Watch
  • Gyorgy Tatar
    Chair of the Board of Trustees, Foundation for the International Prevention of Genocide and Mass Atrocities
  • Dr. Inge Gotzmann
    National Manager, Bund Heimat und Umwelt in Deutschland, Bundesverband für Kultur, Natur und Heimat e. V.
  • Dr. James Smith
    Special Representative, Aegis Trust
  • Jana Smiggels Kavková
    Chair, Czech Women´s Lobby
  • Javier El-Hage
    International Legal Director, The Human Rights Foundation
  • Hon. Minister Jean Jacques Nyenimigabo
    Minster of Youth, Sports and Culture of Burundi
  • John Feffer
    Co-director of Foreign Policy in Focus, Institute for Policy Studies
  • President Katalin Bogyay
    President of the General Conference of UNESCO, ICD Advisory Board Member
  • Kelsang Gyalsen
    Special Representative of His Holiness the Dalai Lama to Europe
  • The Hon. Kristina Ojuland
    Member of European Parliament; Former Foreign Minister of Estonia, , ICD Advisory Board Member
  • Leena Azzam
    Research Assistant, Law Department, the American University in Cairo (AUC)
  • Ljuljjeta Goranci Brkic
    General Manager, Nansen Dialogue Center Sarajevo
  • Dr. Lulzim Farizi
    State labor Inspectorate, Government of Macedonia
  • Louise Lindfors
    Chariwoman, The Fredrika Bremer Society
  • Marie Brown
    Area Management Coordinator, Foyle Women's Aid
  • Prof. Dr. Marilou McPhedran
    Professor, Institute for International Women's Rights, University of Winnipeg
  • Dr. Mark Barwick,  
    Manager, Human Rights Without Frontiers
  • Mark Donfried
    Director & Founder, Institute for Cultural Diplomacy (ICD)
  • Prof. Martin Jänicke
    Founding Director of the Environmental Policy Research Center, Freie Universität; Germany
  • Mary Devery
    Historian and Human Rights campaigner, Board Member TERRE DES FEMMES e.V.
  • Maryam Faghihimani
    Sustainability Adviser, University of Oslo, Core Group member of UNICA Green Academic Footprint (UGAF) and Nordic Sustainable Campus Network (NSCN)
  • Meskerem  Geset Techane
    Deputy Executive Director of Institute for Human Rights and Development in Africa (IHRDA)
  • Metin Djelil
    Manager at the Islamic Center-Mosque "Ebu Hanifa", Germany
  • Mona el Roby, 
    Assistant Lecturer, Faculty of Economics and Political Science, Future University, Egypt
  • Dr. Mukesh Kapila
    Special Representative, Aegis Trust
  • Mushfiqul Fazal
    Host & Moderator of TV Show "Hello Excellency" on NTV
  • Neama Ebaid
    MA Student of Public Policy and Administration at the American University in Cairo (AUC)
  • The Hon. Ögmundur Jónasson
    Former Minister of the Interior of Iceland, ICD Advisory Board Member
  • Paloma Moré
    Manager, President of the Dulcamara Womens Assotiation
  • Ralf Fücks
    President, Heinrich Boell Foundation
  • Dr. Robert Schuette
    Chairman, Genocide Alert
  • Sabine Leskopf
    Representative, Women Of Multicultural Ethnicity Network
  • Prof. Dr. Shaireen Rasheed
    Professor Philosophy,  LIU Post (Long Island University), NY, USA
  • Sheikh Maytham Al Salman
    Chairman of the Bahrain Interfaith Center
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Heiland
    Professor, Institute for Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning, Technical University of Berlin
  • Twana Hassan
    PhD researcher (Law), The University of Queensland, Australia
  • Prof. Dr. Yusuf Ziya Irbec
    Member of the Turkish Parliament
  • Zvonimir Paul Separovic
    Former Minister of Justice of Croatia