In cooperation with:

The ICD Annual Conference on Cultural Diplomacy 2012

"The Power of the Arts & Culture to Promote Democracy & Global Peace"

(Berlin; December 13th - 16th, 2012)

Conference Speakers

We are privileged to include as speakers many world leaders and distinguished experts from the fields of international politics, economics, diplomacy, the private sector, and civil society; these speakers will include a number of individuals from the ICD Advisory Board. The ICD is grateful for their contributions to this important event.

To learn more about the ICD Advisory Board please click here.

The following are among the Speakers for the Conference:
H. E. Amb. Abdul Basit
Ambassador of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan to Germany
Áine Collins TD
Member of the Irish Parliament
The Hon. Alfred Camilleri
Finance Ministry Permanent Secretary, Government of Malta
The Hon. Angeles González-Sinde
Former Minister of Culture of Spain
The Hon. Anna Diamantopoulou (MP)
Former European Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs and Equal Opportunities; Former Greek Minister for Development, Competitiveness and Shipping
Sir Anthony Russell Brenton 
ICD Advisory Board member; Former British Ambassador to Russia
Carl Wilkens
Co-Founder/Director World outside My Shoes
Amb. Cynthia Schneider
(ICD Advisory Board Member; Distinguished Professor in the Practice of Diplomacy, Georgetown University; Former USA Ambassador to the Netherlands)
David Soul
Celebrated Actor, Director & Singer
Dirk van den Berg
German Filmmaker, Producer
Dirk Pleiter
Member of the China Coordination Group, Amnesty International
The Hon. Ekaterine Tkeshelashvili
Former Vice Prime-Minister, State Minister of Georgia for Reintegration; Former Foreign Minister
Elsa Cordeiro (MP)
Member of the Portuguese Parliament
The Hon. Dr. Emil Constantinescu
President of the ICD Academy for Cultural Diplomacy; Former President of Romania
Emily Atef
Celebrated German Filmmaker & Producer
Enzo M. Le Fevre Cervini
Director, Research and Cooperation, Budapest Center for the International Prevention of Genocide and Mass Atrocities
The Hon. Dr. Erhard Busek
ICD Advisory Board Member; Former Vice-Chancellors of Austria; Former Minister of Education
The Hon. Erna Hennicot Schoepges
Vice President of the ICD Advisory Board; Former Luxembourgian Minister of Culture and Religious Affairs
Ferdous Ara Begum
Gender Issues Specialist; Former Member of UN CEDAW Committee; Former Director General, Bangladesh Television
H. E. Amb. Filippe Savadogo
Ambassador & Permanent Representative of the International Organization of the Francophonie to the United Nations
The Hon. Francesco Rutelli
Former Deputy Prime Minister of Italy; Former Minister of Culture and Tourism; Former Mayor of Rome
Dr. Gregory H. Stanton
President, Genocide Watch
Dr. György Tatár
Director, Budapest Centre for the International Prevention of Genocide and Mass Atrocities
The Hon. Halldór Ásgrímsson
Secretary General for the Nordic Council of Ministers; Former Prime Minister of Iceland
The Hon. Dr. Hassan B. Diab
Ministry of Education and High Education of Lebanon
Ian Gillan
Singer & Song writer with Deep Purple
Professor J R Monroy
Founder and Chairman, Latin American and Caribbean Cultural Society
The Hon. Jesmond Mugliett
Member of the Parliament of Malta; Former Minister for Urban Development and Roads of Malta
Prof. Dr. John M. Hobson
Professor of Politics and International Relations, University of Sheffield, UK
John Whitehead
Director, British Council Berlin
Amb. Katalin Bogyay
President of the General Conference of UNESCO
The Hon. Kristiina Ojuland (MEP)
ICD Advisory Board Member; Former Foreign Minister of Estonia
Laris Gaiser
President, EMUNI University, Slovenia
Laura Collins
Program Coordinator, African Union Network for Genocide and Mass Atrocity Prevention, Auschwitz Institute for Peace & Reconciliation
Marcia Barrett
ICD Advisory Board Member; Lead Singer of Boney M
The Hon. Maria de Belém Roseira
President of Socialist Party; Member of the Portuguese Parliament; Former Minister for Equality of Portugal
Maria Serkedjieva
Former Deputy Minister, Ministry of Justice & European Legal Integration of Bulgaria
Prof. Dr. Mark Aspinwall
Professor of Politics, Head of Department of Politics and International Relations, University of Edinburgh
The Hon. Martin Cauchon
Former Minister of Justice of Canada
Prof. Dr. Mike Hardy CMG OBE
Professor of Intercultural Relations, Coventry University
The Hon. Dr. Milan Zver (MEP)
Member of the European Parliament; Presidential Candidate, Slovenian Presidential Elections 2012; Former Minister of Education of Slovenia
Undersecretary Mireya Agüero de Corrales
Undersecretary of Foreign Affairs of Honduras
Secretary Monkid Mestassi
General, Ministry of Economic and General Affairs, Kingdom of Morocco and Chair of the MENA-OECD Investment Program
The Hon. Dr. Nazar Al Baharna
ICD Advisory Board Member; Former Foreign Minister of Bahrain
The Hon. Nouzha Skalli
ICD Advisory Board Member; Former Moroccan Minister of Social Development, Family, and Solidarity
Amb. Olga Algayerova
State Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Slovakia
Minister Ögmundur Jónasson
Minister of the Interior of Iceland; Former Minister of Justice & Human Rights
Prof. Dr. Ovidiu Pecican
Vice-dean, Faculty of European Studies, Babes-Bolyai University, Cluj-Napoca, Romania
President Pierre Nkurunziza
President of the Republic of Burundi 
The Hon Praxoula Antoniadou Kyriacou
President of the United Democrats; Former Minister of Commerce, Industry & Tourism of Cyprus
H.E. Amb. Ranko Vilovic
ICD Advisory Board Member; Ambassador, Permanent Mission of the Republic of Croatia to the United Nations
Rebecca Tinsley
Director & Founder, Waging Peace
Ribal Al-Assad
Chairman, Iman Foundation
Robert Schütte
President, Genocide Alert
The Hon. Ruud Lubbers
Former Primeminister of the Netherlands; Former United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
Samantha Horn 
Director, Global Raphael Lemkin Program for Genocide Prevention, Auschwitz Institute for Peace and Reconciliation
The Hon. Selmo Cikotić
ICD Advisory Board Member; Former Minister of Defense of Bosnia and Herzegovina
Prof. Dr. Sjaak Koenis
Professor, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Maastricht University
Governor Steve Merrill
77th Governor of New Hampshire; President, Bingham Consulting
The Hon. Stockwell Day
Former Minister of International Trade of Canada
Prof. Dr. Tariq Modood
Professor of Sociology; Director, University Research Centre for the Study of Ethnicity and Citizenship, University of Bristol, UK
The Hon. Yasar Yakis
President of the ICD Young Leaders Forums; Former Foreign Minister of Turkey
Dr. Yusuf Ziya Irbec
Member of the Turkish Parliament; Member of the Executive Committee of The Parliamentarians for Global Action