Symposium on Cultural Diplomacy in the Asia Pacific

The Application of Cultural Diplomacy in Fostering Relations within the Asia Pacific

(Berlin; June 5th - 7th, 2013)

Symposium Speakers

We are privileged to include as speakers many distinguished experts from the fields of international politics, international law, diplomacy, human rights and civil society; The ICD is grateful for their contributions to this important event.

The following are among the speakers for the Symposium:
  • Dr. Ares Kalandides
    City planner & Managing Director, Inpolis UCE GmbH
  • Prof. Dr. Barbara Lenz
    Head of Institute, Institute of Transport Research, German Aerospace Center (DLR) Spokeswoman, Cluster for Transport, Mobility and Logistics
  • Dr.-Ing. Eckhart Hertzsch
    Fraunhofer Institute for Building Physics IBP
  • Cornelia Horsch
    Head, International Design Centre Berlin IDZ
  • Cornelia Yzer
    Berlin Senator for Economics, Technology and Research
  • Elisabeth Schwerdfeger
    M.A. in Management in Nonprofit Organizations
  • Francisco S. Tatad
    Special Counsel on International Relations, Philippines
  • Dr. Guido Westerwelle
    German Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs
  • Hans Ulrich Fuhrke
    Principal Advisor, GIZ-SUTIP Sustainable Urban Transport Improvement Project, German Association for Internation Cooperation (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH)
  • Hazel Han
    Erasmus Mundus Master Program in Public Policy, Central European University, Budapest, Hungary
  • Jehan Chu
    Director, Vermillion Art Collections, Board of Directors, Ambassadors of Design, Hong Kong
  • Vice President Jejomar C. Binay
    Vice President of the Philippines; Former Mayor of Makati
  • Joerg Suermann
    Founder & Managing Director, DMY (International Design Festival) Berlin
  • Johannes Kleske and Igor Schwarzmann
    Managing Directors, Third Wave GmbH
  • Amb. Karl-Erik Norrman
    Secretary General, European Cultural Parliament; Professor, Center for Cultural Diplomacy Studies
  • Mark C. Donfried
    Director and Founder, The Institute for Cultural Diplomacy
  • Prof. Dr. Mohd. Noor Mat Yazid
    Programme of International Relations, School of Social Sciences, Universiti Malaysia Sabah, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
  • Prof.Dr. Peter Ruge
    Architect, Peter Ruge Architekten; Professor, Sustainiblw Design, Dessau Institute of Architecture
  • Rainer Becker
    Daimler Mobility Services GmbH
  • Robert Kleinfeld
    Competence centre Future Applications and Media, Fraunhofer FOKUS
  • Minister Dr. Surapond Tovichackchaikul
    Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of Thailand
  • Susa Pop
    Director Berlin, Public Art Lab
  • Tac Lion
    Director, AHL Lighting & Media Facades, China
  • Prof. Dr.Tatsuaki Tanaka
    Professor Energy-Efficient Architecture, Ochanomizu University, Japan
  • Tobias Berger
    Curator at “M+” the new museum for visual culture in Hong Kong
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrich Brückner
    Jean Monet Professor of European Studies, Stanford University; Academic Director, Center for Cultural Diplomacy Studies
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrich Weinberg
    Head, Hasso Plattner Institut - School of Design Thinking