The Berlin International Human Rights Congress (BIHRC)

"Human Rights and Democracy in a Globalized World - Moving Towards an International Consensus"

(Berlin; October 1st - 4th, 2010)

Human Rights Introduction

May 25, 1957

The establishment of the EEC

Two Treaties of Rome, the first establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, and the second establishing the European Economic Community (EEC), are both signed on May 25th 1957 by Belgium, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and West Germany. The EEC sets in place a customs union with a common external tariff, and common policies for agriculture, transport and trade.