The Skopje Conference on Cultural Diplomacy in the Balkans
"Transcontinental Cooperation Efforts amongst European Nations: The Future of Northern-Southern European Relations"

(Skopje, November 13th - 14th, 2013)

Conference Timetable
09:45-11:00 Opening Session
09:45-10:00 Registration for participants and journalists
Introduction of Participants
10:00-10:50 Official Opening Remarks
  • H.E. Mr. Nikola Poposki
    Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Macedonia
  • H.E. Elisabeta Kancheska - Milevska
    Minister of culture of the Republic of Macedonia
  • H.E. Gudrun Elizabet Stajnaker
    Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany
10:50-11:00 Break
11:00-11:05 Introduction of the Participants in the Conference
Panel 1 Cultural Pluralism in the Balkans
  • The state of culture diversities in the Balkans
  • Creating the conditions for peaceful co-existence among diverse cultural groups
  • Cultural Diplomacy as a bridge between Balkan states
Speakers: 11:05-11:25 H.E Mrs. Laurence Auer
Ambassador of the French Republic in Macedonia
  11:25-11:45 Mr. Mark Donfried
Director of the Institute for Cultural Diplomacy
  11:45-12:05 Mr. Lubisa Georgievski
Former Ambassador of the Republic of Macedonia in Serbia and Bulgaria
  12:05-12:25 Mr. Luan Starova
Member of the Macedonian Academy of Arts and Sciences and Former Ambassador of the Republic of Macedonia in France
12:25 - 12:40
Questions and Answer Session
12:40-14:00 Lunch Break
14:00-15:40 Afternoon Session
Panel 2 The Regional Integration of "Powder-Keg Europe"
  • Cooperation to create a common European foreign policy
  • The role of youth in strengthening the Balkan position within Europe
  • A shift towards a "United States of Europe"
Speakers: 14:00-14:30 Mr. Jordan Plevnes
Former Ambassador of the Republic of Macedonia in France, President of ESRA - European Film Academy Association, Skopje, Macedonia
  14:30-15:00 Prof. Dr. Dona Kolar Panov
Dean of the Balkan University, Skopje, Macedonia
  15:00-15:30 Mr.Zhidas Daskalovski
Executive Director and Senior Policy Analyst, Center for Research and Policy Making
15:30-16:00 Questions and Answer Session